And where has September gone…?

Hello there!

It has been a little while since I have last written, and I am up at 6:45 (got up to run with the roommate and her friend for 5:15!), and I think I have some free time. Let’s do this.

Since I have last written, there has not been any surprise boyfriend visits (Hint, hint) (Just kidding, he’s a senior in mechanical engineering) (That lives almost seven hours away). But, no worries: life and the great city of Knoxville has been keeping me busy!

With my favorite class (Nutrition Intervention in the Community), I have been able to tour the Knox County Health Department, attend a Let’s Move! Coalition meeting (I mentioned it in the last post), learn about the WIC program here in Knoxville, and to start working with my great group in order to do a real-time community assessment. So stoked. Can’t release a lot of information about it yet, but be prepared to read and learn once I can!

IMG_1842

Here is a picture of someone’s bulldog figure in my lab! It made me happy.

Metabolism is testin’ my memorization, but in all honesty, I’m learning so much. During a scotch sampling demonstration at work (Yes! Even though I was the only one who didn’t finish all of my taste samples…it was still very informational and fun!), the “scotch master” mentioned the difference with two of the bottles was that they still contained fatty acids that gave the scotch its “cloudy” appearance. When the scotch is put on ice, it gives it a “milky” consistency. I knew my metabolism studies were kickin’ in when I wanted to ask what specific fatty acids were formed and retained in scotch…but I decided it would be best to wait until afterwards (to which he told me he honestly wasn’t sure!).

This week, I’ve been able to get some more physical activity and stress-relief in! Sunday morning and this morning, I was able to run with my roommate and her friend. We ran along the highway on Sunday morning (before you freak out, yes, there is a sidewalk that spans the entire way), and at the track close by our home this morning. For Wednesday night, I was able to check out Bullman’s Kickboxing again: and I absolutely love it. I went ahead and bought a couple of classes so that I don’t have to commit to a monthly fee at the time (plus, only the first class is free). It kicks my butt, but it’s the best one-hour of exercise that I’ve found that completely engages me and lets me kick and punch things. I promise I’m not a violent person, but it’s really physically demanding.

In other cool news, I applied for a position as a writer for a college-food-educational blog called “Spoon University,” which will have a UTK chapter very soon. I sent in my application with a typed up article I would like to publish, and I have an interview on Monday! Fingers crossed.

When you get a moment, check out their overhead (non-specific University-related) website: http://spoonuniversity.com/

On that note, I am now the co-chair of Professional Development in the UTK Graduate Nutrition Student Association, alongside with a great second-year graduate student. We will be planning speakers from within our department and campus to speak to members about their research interests and work, as well as possibly Registered Dietitians throughout the community.

Last night, another MSU-alumni and I were able to partake in a Dietetic Internship Panel for current MSU SDA (Student Dietetic Association) members and undergraduates. This was such a great opportunity, since I remember sitting in the Bost Auditorium last year around this time being completely overwhelmed for all of the tasks to come regarding SOPHAS (School of Public Health Application System), DICAS (Dietetic Internship Centralized Application System), and taking the GRE. It seemed like it went well! We imparted some advice to start everything early…but balance not worrying yourself to death simultaneously.

So, y’all want some pictures and recipes, right? Well, good. But first, something more important: my birthday is upcoming on the 27th!

And I never ask for anything. Ask my mom- it would bug her that I never asked for anything for Christmas or for my birthday. I think the only thing I ever asked for was for a judo clinic back when I practiced Shotokan Karate when I was 13.

So all of this is to say, my family always asks me what I want for my birthday or for Christmas. And let me tell you: if you are so curious/courteous enough, just ask for my address, dear family and friends!

Hear me out.

Everlast Women's Pro Style Training Gloves (Pink, 8 oz.)

I’d like a pair of these. I think either 10 or 12 ounces. Why? Because kickboxing. Whenever I go, I have to borrow the in-house gloves, and they make my hands smell like rotten sweat. These are the Everlast Pro Style Training Gloves.

This. Because I’ve been running lately. I haven’t been training necessarily, but I’ve been working on running again with my roommate. She made the comment this morning that I would probably run better without having to worry about dropping my phone while I’m running, since I hold it. This is an arm band that fits the iPhone 4s, which is the kind I have.
This is the Velocity Series V1 Armband for iPhone 5s/5c/5 and iPhone 4s/4 (Black).

Also, if these pictures aren’t showing up, please let me know. I’m not saving these pictures; I’m just copying them from the Amazon webpages and being lazy.

Brooks running shoes.

I can’t find a picture of the ones that I have. I bought my current pair about… three years ago? You’re supposed to buy new ones once you get past a certain mileage on them. I’m positive I’m past that. Anyways, I would need to go to a place where they can test my foot weight placement, balance, and watch me run. Then, they’ll advise some shoes for me! With that being said, wanna send a card? 😉

The roommate and I also greatly desire a blender. Any kind. Preferably a functioning one.

Also…any type of funding towards living expenses. A girl’s gotta eat and keep this room in this comfy home.

And now, eating. That’s what you really wanted, right?

IMG_1818

Look at this beauty! This was a BYO sandwich at work. Om-nom-nom.

IMG_1812

This is what was left of my dinner once I realized I forgot to take a picture of the finished product. Recipe courtesy of MyRecipes.com. It was a yummy Broccoli Mac and Cheese recipe, to which I added some leftover deli roast beef slices.

I found this recipe on HealthyMe, the MyFitnessPal website recipe blog. This was a yummy pesto egg salad, which I put on many a sandwich.

I added some thyme, Italian seasoning, and relish.

IMG_1821

IMG_1822

I wanted to show my inability to patiently wait while the eggs were cooling before peeling them.

IMG_1823

IMG_1824

The finished product! I didn’t get any leafy greens to throw the mix on top of, but that’s the next on the list to do.

And actually, I bought the ingredients last night for a recipe that I will make today: Chicken Pesto Quinoa, courtesy of Culinary Mamas.

So, besides that, I will go back to listening to the roomie’s records and writing a literature review for next week before attending the Promoting Healthy Weight Colloquium today.

IMG_1843

Also, just a reminder that Knoxville is fantastic and always has random stuff happening always.

IMG_1840

Until later!