How Many Days Until Friday…?

I lied last week.

Grad school actually hit this week. Like yesterday.

IMG_1725

My Tuesdays are oh-so-pleasant…pleasant enough to have Biostatistics from 5-8 PM. After having two classes earlier in the day, plus some running around to do the drug and alcohol screening examination (including some old-fashioned getting lost and taking the wrong exits), I decided I could at least treat myself to a fried green tomato, bacon, tomato jam, and pimiento cheese sandwich with a friend. And a Lazy Magnolia Southern Pecan to boot. 

IMG_1750

Each Tuesday (during the summer, at least that I know of), Knoxville’s Market Square hosts Jazz in the Square. People bring out lawn chairs and blankets and just hang out to enjoy the music. Have I mentioned that I love this place?

Last Friday, I got to go out to Barley’s with two of the Nutrition labs. It was a ton of fun, and it definitely helped to get to talk to people and get to know them better! 

IMG_1729

My roommate was forever telling me about how delicious their calzones are. LOOK AT IT. It was so beautiful, and I even got to save half of it for lunch on Saturday.

Speaking of Saturday, look at my Farmer’s Market bounty! Complete for only $17.40:

IMG_1734

It was only $17.40 and not $20.40, since I decided to tell the one farm that gave me the ant-infested swiss chard about what happened. I was buying carrots from them, and they apologized and gave me the carrots for free! 

IMG_1733

IMG_1731

Plus these guys were adorable. The market is filled with dogs and good people in general. I visited a jewelry place and talked to the owner, who gave me a 10% off “discount token” to bring in whenever I wanted to buy something! I explained to her the grad school life budget I’m on, and why I wanted to save up for buying a nice necklace. She appreciated a good budgeting in a college student!

IMG_1727

So this is the view outside of my parking garage that I every so often get the chance to park at. It’s a bloody war to get into that spot throughout the day.

IMG_1726

This is the view outside of the lab. I know I will be living there a good bit over the next few years…at least.

The weekend was full of *good* work! We had a band at the pub, so we were crazy busy. I loved the cover band- I was able to sing and dance along while working the whole time. I got to wear my fun head band from Peru:

IMG_1736

As far as my food adventures go, here’s a little yummy-ness that I made with my Market Square Farmer’s Market goodies:

IMG_1744

Vegetable Sweet and Sour (link to and recipe from savorynothings.com)

I made some brown rice to throw with it and it has been SO yummy! I also didn’t get pineapple juice because I wrongly assumed that the pineapples I bought from the store would have enough juice to tide me over…nope. So I used some leftover orange juice we had, and it substituted quite well! We also didn’t have brown sugar, so I used some of my organic cane syrup I picked up from the store to sweeten my coffee in the mornings.

The roommate and I shared a frozen dinner tonight (blasphemy!), but it gave me a little free time to update this, and to take a break from tackling this:

IMG_1755

I like this method. It’ll work well. Who needs technology?

Until later!

